One Facebook

I finally got round to reading Wired Magazine’s feature on Mark Zuckerberg, the CEO of Facebook. The journalist, David Kirkpatrick had access to Zuckerberg for four years and his book (which I now need to read) ‘The Facebook Effect’ just got published.

It’s not the first deep dive nor the last however it was the first time I’ve really read comments from Zuckerberg on privacy and his passionate views on people being transparent. As he puts it “The days of you having a different image for your work friends or coworkers and for the other people you know are probably coming to an end pretty quickly. Having two identities for yourself is an example of a lack on integrity.”

I think I believe ONE of his motivators that “The level of transparecncy the world has now won’t support having two identities for a person. Segregating your personal from your professional information won’t be possible, as information about you proliferates on the internet.”

His other motivator is his belief that openess will lead to a happier more united world. Not sure he should count on that Nobel Peace Prize just yet – mind you President Obama maaged to collect one for less – but it’s a laudable objective.

I’ve never tinkered with my privacy settings in relation to once you’re a ‘Friend’. To the wider FB community all you see is my name but I only have one rule for Friends and that’s you see everything. If I post it you see it. I recommend you don’t look at it all if you value your time and have a low boredom threshold.

But I’m not going to be selective about what I post once I’ve posted. Too late then. The time for discretion and judgement is before you post.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

