One day lost, a new chapter found

Yesterday I crossed the International Dateline and moved from being 8 hours behind GMT to 9 hours ahead. A 17 hour time change which meant I jumped from Saturday lunch in Seattle to Sunday evening in Tokyo.

It’s a small price to pay for the opportunity to experience this great city. It’s really hard to know where to begin. I’ve always admired Japan from afar and, thanks to a decade in the Single Malt business, being able to meet some very wordly Japanese people in New York and on Speyside.

This is a five day business trip so I should get a great opportunity to see Tokyo from all angles.

So after a few hours (not entirely seriously) here are my first two thoughts !

What I like most so far – the taxi cabs. Very clean, with doors that spring open automatically when you approach. All driven by white cotton gloved gentleman who remind me of my grandfather.

What I like least so far – the automatic toilet. I don’t think I am ever going to get used to this myriad of bells and whistles a few inches beneath me !

That’s it for the moment.

PS There is another bonus – I counted my underwear NOT taking into account the lost day. Happy is the road warrier who has spare underwear !

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “One day lost, a new chapter found

Leave a Reply

