Nice flight, awful movies, great quote…

Although my personal flight from LHR to SEA was on British Airways my business flight from SEA to NRT was onboard United. Not only a direct 10 hour flight but also a mileage earning opportunity since Continental just joined the Star Alliance having left the very inferior Sky Team. Since I have Silver Elite Status for Life on Continental (as a Million Mile Flyer) this is a great development. Continental has very weak presence on the Western Seaboard so this reduces the need to fly through Houston all of the time.

I paid $119 when I checked in on-line yesterday to move from Economy to Premium Economy. Lots more legroom and a very empty cabin so I have two seats to myself. It does not, however, improve the in-flight entertainment. What is it with United and BA that their 777s are equipped with under a dozen channels with fixed movie schedules ? And when those movies are weak , and boy, are they weak it just adds insult to injury. If you are a fan of ‘straight to video’ then book a flight now.

Never has Sarah Palin’s new autobiography ‘Going Rouge – An American Life’ seemed so attractive. Despite my buddy E’s protests I grabbed a copy in Barnes & Noble. I would not count myself as a supporter of the former Govenor Palin but I do get a kick out of the way that an ambitous woman who has worked hard to have it all so upsets liberals.

It’s a quick and passionate read. Just before the meal service arrived she wrote about her nomination speech at the 2008 Republican Converntion speech. Fifteen months on and her words certainly ring true: “…when the cloud of rhetoric has passed…when the roar of the crowd fades away…when the stadium lights go out and those Styrofoam Greek columns are hauled back to some studio lot – what exactly is our opponent’s plan ? What does he actually seek to acomplish, after he’s done turning back the waters and healing the planet ? The answer is to make government bigger…take more of your money…give you more orders from Washington…and to reduce the strength of America in a dangerous world.”

Maybe one day someone will make a movie of her life – only I don’t think the finale is quite ready yet. When it is I’m sure United will be screening it.

Leave a Reply

