The No 27

I’ve been catching the No 27 bus from Nottinghill Gate to Hammersmith for 15 months now and I am no more knowledgeable about it’s frequency than on Day One.

The information at the bus stop indicates the frequency is between 7 and 12 minutes not unlike the other routes that stop there. Fool that I am I then try to extrapoliate the appearance of other buses to indicate when mine is due. A couple of 52s and a 28 go past ? The 27 must be on its way surely !

Think again.

The 27 also hunts in packs and then you invariably get on the one that then sits in order to ‘regulate frequency’.

But back to the 7 – 12 minutes guide. Before I leave the flat I know where today’s bus will land on the spectrum.

Cold and wet weather : 12 minutes. Warm and sunny : 7 minutes.

Career dependent presentation to finish : 12 minutes. Easier day on the cards. : 7 minutes.

Then there is the fact the No 27 has cloaking powers. Just as I get to the end of my street I see that I’ve just missed a bus. I have 7 – 12 minutes to buy a newspaper right ? I look down ‘The Gate’ – no bus in sight. As I’m paying for the newspaper a No 27 flashes past. Now I’ve missed two.

The return journey at night is boringly predictable.

But on the way to work it’s like roulette and the only number I play is red 27.

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “The No 27

  1. This brings back fond memories of the number 24 bus that I took to go from Saint Georges Square,S.W. 1 to Victoria Station ( and further afield sometimes ). Last time I was in London I made that same journey again after about a 50 year interval, and it was still a double decker and I was able to sit in the front seat on the upper deck as I had all those years ago.
    I also remember being given a bus conducters set
    with cap, cash shoulder bag, tickets and a ticket punch that provided hours of simple entertainment – no batteries required. If I wanted to be the driver, I still had the cap, and all I had to do was rearrange the dining room chairs to both drive the bus and sell tickets.

Leave a Reply

