The view from 35,000 feet

As my 737-800 jetliner tracked out of the airspace around New York and headed westwards towards SFO I thought about my friend P’s recent Facebook Status update where he contemplated a switch in preferred air carriers from Continental (which we both enjoy status on) to American which now offers inflight wifi.

Now I appreciate that I’ve advanced my views on this before but I want to justify my stance and prove I’m not just tilting at windmills.

Firstly, I love technologly and advances in communications. Companies such as Nokia and Research In Motion have done more to bring the world together than a thousand plenary sessions of the UN or EU.

But there is a time and a place for everything and each device has a power off button for a reason.

There is, of course, the initial novelty value and I am sure P surfed and emailed on his terms. But that will soon change. The ‘office’ will catch on that you are a captive target for email. (Oh and what happens when the guy next to you gets some bad news via email mid-flight ?).

A port engine, a range extender wing tip and snowy peaks from 1A.

A port engine, a range extender wing tip and snowy peaks from 1A.

The alternative is you could look out the window as the wingtips almost sliced through the contrail of a plane flying across our route.

You could have enjoyed the Veal Osso Buco as you contemplated just how you could rescue victory from the jaws of defeat with a current work project.

Then again you could read a thoughtful study of Bernard Arnault in the latest issue if WSJ. The new magazine from the Wall Street Journal which is proving to be a great read.

Or continue reading ‘Twitter Power’.

I did all of these things and more. (including consuming a large ice cream sundae which I only accepted out of politeness).

Perhaps some carriers will come off the fence and say ‘no’ to the option and make it a USP for their service !

Oh and the other thing I might just have time for…….? A nap, drifting off over the plains of the Midwest and contemplating that the view from 35,000 feet is a rather special one.

One thought on “The view from 35,000 feet

  1. Hi Mark,

    Wanted to say I am enjoying your blog alot. Glad to see you are still getting to travel the globe. Am hoping to do more traveling myself soon. PDP shut down in Dec and I am looking for a position that allows me more freedom to roam.

    If you are ever in the ATL, give me a shout.

    G

Leave a Reply

